Our Board

EECA is governed by a board of 6 to 8 members who are appointed by and report to the Minister of Energy and Resources.

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) is responsible for monitoring EECA's performance and advising the Minister on matters relating to EECA.

About the Board

Board members are responsible for our supervision and direction, including our long term strategic financial plan, strategic initiatives, budgets and policy. The board is also responsible for the EECA Statement of Intent and the Purchase Agreement with the Minister of Energy and Resources, which sets out what we’ll deliver with our funding.

EECA Board members

Tom Campbell, Chair - BSc, AFInstD

Re-appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2016.

A metallurgist by profession, Tom has a distinguished career in New Zealand and overseas with the Rio Tinto Group of companies, including serving as managing director of Comalco's operations in New Zealand and in the United Kingdom, and global head of research and technology for Rio Tinto Alcan based in Canada.

Other governance roles included chairing Comalco and New Zealand Aluminium Smelters' joint ventures with Japanese and United States companies.

He is a director of PowerNet Ltd, Electricity Invercargill Ltd and Todd Corporation Ltd.

Catherine Taylor, Deputy Chair - BCA, BA

Appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2017.

Catherine is a Chartered Accountant and has held senior management positions in the public and private sector including five years as Director and Chief Executive of Maritime New Zealand.

Her current governance roles include Chair of The Life Flight Trust, Director of Nelson Airport Limited, Independent Director of Diabetes New Zealand, Member of the Building Practitioners Board and Member of the Biosecurity Ministerial Advisory Committee.

Past roles include Director of the New Zealand Institute for Crop and Food Research (now Plant and Food Research) and Member of the Civil Aviation Authority.

David Coull - BCA, LLB (Hons), LLM

First appointed 1 February 2014, re-appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2017.

David, a commercial lawyer and partner at Bell Gully, has more than 10 years' experience in the oil, gas and natural resources sectors, acting for a number of companies operating in the New Zealand energy sector.

His international experience includes a three-year period at Cravath, Swaine and Moore LLP, the leading U.S. corporate law firm, where he acted for corporates such as Nestle S.A., ConocoPhillips, Bristol Myers Squibb and Citigroup on a wide variety of merger and acquisition transactions and advisory matters.

He is a Director of the Petroleum Exploration and Production Association of New Zealand (PEPANZ).

Karen Sherry - QSM, BA, MA (Hons), LLB (Hons), C.FlnstD

Appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2017.

Karen Sherry is a principal of law firm Bell-Booth Sherry where she specialises in commercial and trust law.

Karen has extensive experience in the energy industry.  She is a Director of Vector where she chairs two subcommittees: Risk and Sustainability; Chair of Energy Trusts of New Zealand; and a trustee and former Chair of Entrust.

Karen is also a chartered fellow of the institute of Directors in New Zealand.

Elena Trout - B Technology (Biotechnology) and M Engineering (Civil)

Re-appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2016.

Elena is an engineer with extensive experience in the planning, development, construction and management of large engineering and technical projects.

She has held senior management roles, including at KiwiRail Mechanical Services Ltd, Auckland Regional Transport Authority and the consultancy arm of SerCo NZ Ltd. She served with the New Zealand Synthetic Fuels Corporation in Taranaki and, while with Auckland Regional Transport, led implementation plans for Auckland's passenger rail services and the subsequent justification of converting to an electrified system.

Elena has also been involved in a number of high-profile and nationally significant socio-economic infrastructure projects, including the overhead project which augmented the power supply to the Auckland CBD and leading the team building the Albany to Puhoi highway.

Having spent six years as a director of Transpower, Elena has extensive experience in the electricity sector and its governance.

Elena is on the board of Marsden Maritime Holdings and Contact Energy. Elena is also President and fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ).

Hon Phil Heatley – M HortSci (Hons)

Appointed for three years commencing 1 February 2016.

Hon Phil Heatley has extensive experience in New Zealand’s resources and primary industries.

He served as Minister of Energy and Resources from December 2011 to January 2013, with oversight of EECA and the Electricity Authority. He also held the Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Housing portfolios.

Born and raised in Northland, he was the Member of Parliament for the region's largest city, Whangarei, for 15 years.

He has a Master's degree with Honours in Horticultural Engineering from Massey University, and is a fellow of the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand Inc (IPENZ).