EECA Awards winners leading by example

Using New Zealanders’ love of sport to promote greater energy efficiency and sustainability has gained Project Litefoot Trust the top honours at the 2016 EECA Awards.

Energy Minister Simon Bridges presented the Supreme Award to Project Litefoot Trust at a ceremony in Auckland on May 18. Also winner of the Community Award, the Trust was recognised for its LiteClub project which helps community sports clubs become more efficient with energy, water and waste. The money saved on energy is then freed up for equipment, coaching and facilities. So far the trust has achieved $3.9 million worth of energy savings.

“The LiteClub project is reaching everyday New Zealanders and changing their attitudes to sustainability through their involvement in sports clubs. This is an innovative and well-executed project that makes use of sports stars to get attention and support,” said EECA Chief Executive Mike Underhill.

Conrad Smith, Brendon McCullum, Michael Campbell and the Evers-Swindell twins are some of the 10 New Zealand sporting heroes who are helping Project Litefoot Trust link sport with the environment.

Over 710 community sports clubs have signed to LiteClub’s free service, and there is now international interest in replicating the model.

Other winners included Orora Beverage Cans New Zealand, which won the Large Energy User Award for an energy management plan which has seen the company’s least efficient site increase productivity by 30%, while the Small to Medium Energy User Award went to organic food distributor Ceres Organics, whose new state-of-the-art warehouse and office building has shed 40% off the company’s energy use.

The energy-saving achievements of ANZCO Foods were rewarded with the company taking out the Energy Management Award. ANZCO has achieved a 17% reduction in overall energy use, saving the company $2.6 million each year, a result Award judge’s put down to ANZCO’s company-wide commitment to be more energy efficient.

Specialised business service companies were recognised in the Awards, with Auckland based Energy Solutions Providers (ESP) winning the Business Service Excellence Award for energy management programmes that have saved the company’s clients more than $18.5 million.

The work of urban planner and sustainability strategist Dr Viv Heslop was endorsed with the Sustainability Manager at Panuku Development Auckland receiving the Energy Leadership Award. Dr Heslop is credited with pioneering energy efficiency in the regeneration of Auckland’s waterfront.

The Public Sector Award went to Te Puni Kōkiri and Argosy Property for the retrofit of historic Te Puni Kōkiri House in Wellington. The refurbishment has seen the 1940s building transformed into one of New Zealand’s highest-performing green buildings.

Fast-changes in the transport sector saw Charge Net NZ awarded the Transport Award for its moves to increase the number of charging stations for electric vehicles in New Zealand.

Innovative and renewable energy projects were also celebrated in the Awards. Butchery company Hellers and Active Refrigeration took out the Innovation Award for a heat recovery project which produces hot water from waste heat generated by the factory’s cooling system. The Renewable Energy Award went to Antarctica New Zealand for Kiwi-designed and built wind turbines which are generating enough energy to power both New Zealand and America’s Antarctic research stations.

Head Judge Ralph Sims says judges were impressed by the variety and quality of the entries in this year’s awards.

“The 10 judging panels for each of the categories had a challenging task to produce from all the excellent entries a short-list of the most outstanding ones, from which a winner was determined. It is fully anticipated that from the wide publicity the EECA Award winners generate, many other people and organisations will be introduced to ways whereby they can also improve their performance, save money, whilst also benefitting the environment.”

Mike Underhill described this year’s winners as trailblazers in their effort to find innovative solutions that tackle energy use head on.

“It is clear that many businesses, councils, community groups, school and individuals in New Zealand are striving hard to become more energy efficient, to practically install renewable energy systems, and to generally reduce their carbon footprints. All our winners are leading by example and their inspiring stories will influence a wider commitment to energy efficiency across New Zealand society.”

Collectively, the 2016 Awards entries will save or generate 1.1 petajoules (PJ) of energy, equivalent to the annual energy use of all households in New Plymouth, and avoid 120,000 tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions, about one-fifth of the annual emissions of all households in New Zealand.

The EECA Awards honoured winners in ten categories for a range of projects across business, community and the public sector. Held every two years, the Awards celebrate organisations and individuals that demonstrate excellence in energy and renewable energy. The event was hosted by EECA with support from principal sponsors Fujitsu General NZ, Vector and NZME.

The 2016 EECA Award winners were:

  • Supreme winner: Project Litefoot Trust
  • Business Service Excellence: Energy Solution Providers
  • Community Award: Project Litefoot Trust
  • Energy Leadership: Dr Viv Heslop, Panuku Development Auckland
  • Energy Management: ANZCO
  • Innovation Award: Hellers and Active Refrigeration
  • Large Energy User: Orora Beverage Cans
  • Public Sector: Te Puni Kōkiri and Argosy Property
  • Renewable Energy: Antarctica New Zealand
  • Small to Medium Energy User: Ceres Organics
  • Transport: Charge Net NZ

 Find out more about the EECA Awards

Media enquiries:

Niels Reinsborg, Communications Advisor, EECA

Phone: 04 495 8254 or 027 487 7970