EECA Awards to celebrate New Zealand’s best energy-saving projects in 2016

The countdown has begun to find New Zealand's most exciting energy-saving and renewable energy projects for the EECA Awards 2016.

The EECA Awards, held every two years, celebrate businesses and organisations that demonstrate excellence in energy efficiency and renewable energy.

In announcing the opening of nominations, EECA Chief Executive Mike Underhill says being finalist or winner of an EECA Award is a rewarding way to enhance your organisation’s profile, reputation and brand.

“Winners of EECA Awards are recognised as leaders in their field, and set the standard for energy management. They inspire other businesses and community groups to step up their commitment to energy efficiency, helping to make New Zealand a better place to live - economically, environmentally and socially.

“Each year we receive a high calibre of entries from some of the country’s most high profile businesses that are more successful thanks to investment and innovation in energy efficiency. In 2016, we will continue to showcase New Zealand’s smartest energy efficiency success stories,” Mr Underhill says. 

The EECA Awards mark the pinnacle of success for energy efficiency and renewable energy excellence, recognising a broad range of businesses and community organisations. Previous Supreme Award winners include K&L Nurseries, a family-run flower growing operation in Christchurch, Air New Zealand and Downer NZ.

In 2014, the Award entries collectively saved or generated energy worth around $100 million to entrants over the life of the projects, and reduced CO2 emissions by 200,000 tonnes. On top of this, the combined health benefits were estimated at around $24 million a year.

Categories for the 14th EECA Awards include Business Service Excellence, Community, Energy Leadership, Energy Management, Innovation, Large Energy User, Public Sector, Renewable Energy, Small to Medium Energy User, and Transport.

The Business Excellence Award is a new category recognising an energy management service provider’s approach to supporting their clients and implementing successful projects.

Minister of Energy and Resources, Hon Simon Bridges, will present the Supreme Award, which is selected from the winners of each category, at the Awards ceremony in Auckland on 18 May 2016. 

Key dates

  • Awards open for entry on 4 November 2015
  • Entries close 5 February 2016
  • Finalists announced in April 2016
  • Winners announced on 18 May 2016

 EECA Awards 2016

Media enquiries:

Niels Reinsborg, Communications Advisor, EECA

Phone: 04 495 8254 or 027 487 7970